Hi There, Brief Introduction!

Hi everybody,

I’d like to let you all know that I think you’re correct.

It seems increasingly clear to me that ocaps are a missing piece from computing, and I applaud everyone here for having reached this conclusion.

I had been chewing on some deep intuitive basics about trust and risk for years and finally articulated it late 2017 well enough to start blogging about how I thought things might unfold with this new technology:

I’m a founder and lead developer of MetaMask, a browser extension that itself carries some user-prompting crypto functions (not quite yet capabilities), and several issues have started leading us to converge on ocaps.

1. The hack of a JS bitcoin wallet exfiltrated funds.
  2. The extensibility of our platform was lacking.
  3. The scalability of the blockchain is holding back developers.

I currently believe all three of these major issues are handled head-on by ocaps. Imagine my terror when I see people like Mark Miller having been advocating for them for the last 20 years! Surely we don’t need another 20, right?

I initially made a minimum-viable local-capability system in a branch of MetaMask by writing https://github.com/MetaMask/json-rpc-capabilities-middleware, and the pragmatist in me says ship it!

I had been looking at some of Mark’s talks showing how Promises were intended to be abstractions of capabilities, and so I started thinking a promise-passing version of dnode might be a good path.

I was able to pretty quickly whip-up a promises-over-dnode project that I’m tentatively calling capnode, but it quickly hit serious limitations:

• Dnode only passes functions in one direction, one time, while I want to freely pass function references (capabilities) back and forth over a connection.
  • This implied needing authorization at another layer, but whenever I thought of auth, it came back to the keys.

I had sketched up a table of some of the options I was considering: